I have a long commute, normally spending between 2 and 2.5 hours in the car daily. While I do listen to my share of radio programming, it is often the case that I revert to per-recorded music when I grow bored with on-air offerings.

One of the MP3 discs that I recorded for October’s Pacific-Northwest trip of last year contained a greatest hits collection from Roxy Music. I honestly can’t get into much of the music but one of the tracks is spectacular. The 1975 track Love is the Drug has some great elements including the intro walking/driving sequence taken from the movie Duel, a fantastic bass line, simplistic yet effective guitar, and Bryan Ferry’s vocals. The elements are interesting individually but are even stronger when combined.

As a bonus, the official video for the song is a spotlight on excesses of the past, not one of them looks completely sober or drug free.

Leave a Reply

